常見問題:幼稚園課程

孩子可以自由選擇什麼也不做嗎?

孩子天生好奇,即使在“無所事事”的情況下,他們也會以潛意識和感官吸收周圍的語言、文化、應有的禮貌和各樣的事情。假如孩子堅持在教室裡游盪,而不選擇工作,老師會溫柔地給他建議或邀請他參加小組活動。一般來說,“無所事事”的日子並不長久,期間,孩子亦學會善用工作時間,繼而鍛鍊出獨立選擇工作的能力。

孩子在蒙特梭利教室可以玩耍嗎?

蒙特梭利是充滿趣味性的學習。在教室內,雖然我們看不到玩具、娃娃、玩具廚房等等的玩意,但孩子的工作卻符合我們對遊戲的定義,遊戲的精神亦隨處可見。

當孩子玩耍時,他們同時在練習、嘗試、探索。孩子把玩一件玩具的時候,其實是展現一連串的行為狀態,例如:重複地做同樣的動作,或作一些新嘗試、新的玩耍方法。同樣地,在蒙特梭利教室內,當孩子看過老師示範,例如如何建築粉紅塔後,孩子可以自由地嘗試和探索與立方體不同的配置和變化:將它們順序排列起來; 或建築兩個較矮小的塔;或將最小的立方體放在底部,嘗試建塔,目的是看看立方體如何跌落的情形。在這一切中,孩子得
到因果關係,維度上的關係,以及地心引力的知識。

另一方面,孩子也喜歡模仿成人的行為,目的是想融入成人世界。他們想用炊具、在廚房裡幫忙、掃地、或折疊衣服。在蒙特梭利教室,我們讓孩子真正做到這些事情。孩子可以親自為同學做小食、照顧植物、插花、擺桌等等。在這裡,孩子不需要模仿。他們在玩耍過程裡,因為他們可以親自去做所有的事情,從而得到學習的動機、樂趣和成功感,完全將學習和遊戲溶為一體。

如果孩子按自己的節奏工作,他們會否落後?

由於孩子的能力或喜好並不一樣,若他們可以按照自己的喜好和節奏自由工作,絕對有利於他們對學習的喜愛、興趣和從中獲得的自信。在蒙特梭利教室裡,吸收能力較強的孩子,老師會讓他嘗試概念較深奧的工作,從而提高他們學習的興趣和進度。相反,需要多點時間掌握學習概念的孩子,老師會細心觀察他們學習上的需要,再鼓勵他們反複嘗試,直至孩子完全掌握和完成工作為止。孩子取得到成功後,他們會以所學的知識和概念做基礎,再邁向其他更具挑戰性的工作。

我們的語文課程如何運作?

良好語言能力可以直接提高孩子的自信和社交能力。我們注重學生擁有精確詞彙、流利和優良的溝通技巧。入學前,家長可以選擇全英語、英普或兩文三語的浸入式學習。每天的語言練習以小組或一對一形式進行,課程包括會話、閱讀和寫作等等的工作。

我們如何評估孩子?

蒙特梭利認為,打分數與其他獎勵一樣,對孩子的努力或成就感並沒有持久的幫助。 蒙特梭利培養孩子喜愛學習後,他對學習的動機就燃點了。一個自我激勵的學習者也學會自給自足,而不需要外界的強化。

每個月,老師會向家長派發匯報表,讓家長知道孩子的學習和一般校內情況。每個學期結束後,我們會派發成績表,報告孩子在各個學習領域的進展情況,在家長老師會議中,家長可以向老師更詳細了解孩子學習事宜。

我們的師資如何?老師和學生的比例是多少?

我們所有的蒙特梭利教師均經過蒙特梭利教師培訓,包括AMI(蒙特梭利國際協會)和AMS(美國蒙特梭利協會)。我們的英語教師擁有英語教學資格,並且是以英語為母語。普通話教師均通過普通話考試,曾學習以中文教學。在我們的幼兒班中,教師與學生的比例是1: 6,幼稚園是1:8。

為什麼要學習蒙特梭利?

孩子在蒙特梭利教室裡學到的智識、工作習慣和技能,將會幫助他更仔細地觀察、更具集中能力、更有效地工作,這種思維會讓他繼續在一個具激勵性的環境中發展並自我教育下去。

著名的蒙特梭利校友包括:
英國皇室的威廉王子:哈里和喬治
亞馬遜網站的創始人傑夫·貝佐斯(Jeff Bezos)
Google創始人拉里·佩奇(Larry Page)和謝爾蓋·布林(Sergey Brin)
維基百科創始人吉米·威爾士(Jimmy Wales)
安妮·弗蘭克日記的作者安妮·弗蘭克(Anne Frank)

學生如何過渡到小學?

蒙特梭利畢業生是充滿好奇,自我激勵的終身學習者,可以容易地融入本地和國際學校環境中。

我們最近的畢業生已被錄取到下面的學校

本地學校:
Diocesan Girls’ School 拔萃女書院
St. Paul’s Co-Educational Primary School 聖保羅男女中學(附屬小學)
Sacred Heart Canossian School (Private Section) 嘉諾撒聖心學校(私立部)
Kiangsu and Chekiang Primary School 蘇浙小學
Rosaryhill School 玫瑰崗學校
HKCA Po Leung Kuk Primary School 保良局建造商會學校
St. Joseph’s Primary School 聖若瑟小學

 

國際學校:
Canadian International School of Hong Kong 加拿大國際學校
Chinese International School 漢基國際學校
French International School 法國國際學校
International Christian Academy 基督教國際書院
Korean International School 韓國國際學校
English Schools Foundation 英基學校

Frequently Asked Questions: Casa Program

1. Since children are allowed to choose what they want to do, what happens if they want to do nothing?

Children are born curious so there is no such thing as “doing nothing” at this age. Even children who appear to be disengaged are actually sensorially and subconsciously absorbing the language, culture, social skills, and much more from the world around them. If the child persists in walking around the classroom without choosing an activity, the Montessori teacher will gently recommend an activity or invite them to participate in a group activity. In general, inactivity does not last long, and during this period children also learn how to make good use of their activity time, which strengthens their ability to work independently.

2. Montessori and Pretend Play

Montessori is playful learning. While one may not see dolls, a toy kitchen, or particular emphasis on pretend play, Montessori students engage in activities that fit the definition of play, as the spirit of play is very much present.
When children play, they are practicing, experimenting, and discovering. A child playing with a toy will turn it this way and that, make it go here and there, do the same action over and over, then try something completely different just to see what will happen.
When a child works with a Montessori material, for example, the pink tower, after stacking the tower as her teacher has shown her, she is free to experiment and explore with the cubes for different configurations and variations. She can line them up horizontally; make 2 towers, place the smallest cube on the bottom and try to build the tower, just to see if the cubes fall. In all of this, the child discovers cause and effect, relationships in dimension, and the concepts of balance and gravity.

Children often use pretend play because they want to be part of the adult world. They want to use cooking utensils, help in the kitchen, sweep the floors, and wash and fold clothes. In a Montessori classroom, instead of mimicking adult activities through play, children are given opportunities to actually do them. The children will actually bake snacks and treats to enjoy with their classmates, take care of plants, arrange flowers, set the tables for lunch, and a huge range of other real-life tasks. They satisfaction they gain from even small independent achievements motivates their further learnings, and there is no need to pretend when they can do the real thing.

3. If children work at their own pace, do they fall behind?

Because children’s abilities and interests are different, if they work freely according to their own preferences and rhythm, they will develop their love of learning, as well as their confidence and skills in a range of areas. When a child needs more time to master a skill, the teacher will carefully observe their learning needs and will encourage them to repeat the task many times until they have mastered the skills involved. Once the child has gained mastery of a skill, they build on the knowledge they have acquired and will naturally move on to more challenging work.

4. How does the bilingual English/Chinese program work in Nursery or Kindergarten?

Strong language skills can directly improve a child’s self-confidence and social skills. In the Montessori classroom, emphasis is placed on using precise vocabulary, learning to speak with fluency, and developing excellent communication skills. Upon enrolling, parents can choose immersive language learning in English, English/Putonghua, or English/Putonghua/Cantonese. Daily language exercises are conducted in groups or in one-on-one sessions, which reinforces the child’s conversation, reading and writing skills.

5. How are students assessed?

Grades, like other external rewards, have little lasting effect on a child’s efforts or achievements. The Montessori approach nurtures the motivation that comes from within, kindling the child’s natural desire to learn. A self-motivated learner also learns to be self-sufficient, without needing reinforcement or reminding. In the classroom, of course, the teacher is always available to provide students with guidance and support.

Although our teachers don’t assign grades, they closely observe each student’s progress and readiness to advance to new lessons. Monthly assessments allow parents to observe their child’s progress in various areas, and family conferences at the end of each term allow parents a more detailed view of their child’s progress, in addition to the written comments from teachers.

6. What are your teachers’ qualifications and what is the student to teacher ratio?

All of our Montessori teachers are Montessori trained and certified through internationally recognized Montessori associations, including AMI (Association Montessori Internationale) and AMS (American Montessori Society). Our language teachers in English, Putonghua or Cantonese are native speakers and hold relevant language teaching qualifications. In our Pre-Casa classes, the teacher-student ratio is 1:6*, and in our Casa classes, 1:8#.

*Education Bureau requirement is 1:15

#Education Bureau requirement is 1:30

7. Why should I choose Montessori for my child?

Montessori education is characterized by an emphasis on independence, freedom within limits, and respect for a child’s natural psychological, physical, and social development. Montessori students are creative, open-minded, outside-the-box thinkers.

Thomas Edison, American inventor and advocate of the Montessori method, has been quoted saying, “I like the Montessori method. It teaches through play. It makes learning a pleasure. It follows the natural instincts of the human being. The present system casts the brain into a mold. It does not encourage original thought or reasoning.”

The knowledge, work habits and skills a child learns in a Montessori classroom will help them to observe more carefully, work more efficiently and focus more effectively. The child will develop a passion and love of self-directed learning, and this inner drive will naturally motivate the child to continue learning about themselves and the environment around them.

6 tech innovators who attended Montessori schools:
Henry Ford, founder of the Ford Motor Company
Will Wright, creator of “The Sims” videogame
Jeff Bezos, founder of Amazon.com
Larry Page, co-founder of Google.com
Sergey Brin, co-founder of Google.com
Jimmy Wales, founder of Wikipedia.com

8. How do Montessori students transition to primary schools?

Our Montessori graduates are inquisitive, self-motivated, life-long learners, and thrive in both local and international school environments.

Our recent graduates have been admitted to the below schools:

Local schools:

Diocesan Girls’ School

St. Paul’s Co-Educational Primary School

Sacred Heart Canossian School (Private Section)

Kiangsu and Chekiang Primary School

Rosaryhill School

HKCA Po Leung Kuk Primary School

St. Joseph’s Primary School

International schools:

Canadian International School of Hong Kong

Chinese International School

French International School

International Christian Academy

Korean International School

English Schools Foundation